I’m Home

On Wednesday, my contract with the JET Program ended (more precisely, my contract with the Kobe City Board of Education), and on that day I returned home to the States.  My main priority now is getting a job, but I’ll try to show this blog some love from time to time.  I still have lots of things to talk about.

7 Responses to “I’m Home”

  1. orokusaki Says:

    Keep us posted on your job possibilities. Glad you are finally back, though I’m sure it’s a culture shock of sorts.

  2. kevinjames Says:

    Thanks, will do.

  3. orokusaki Says:

    Ok Sir. I know the internet isn’t THIS slow in Yakima. :) WHERE IS THE UPDATE? :) I want to know how you are doing.

  4. Chery Says:

    Kevin – Welcome home! Remember that you can still use my name as a reference when you go job hunting. Stop by the UW when you can and say “hi!”

  5. kevinjames Says:

    Thanks, Chery! I’m concentrating my job search in Seattle, but I’m staying with my folks in eastern Washington in the meantime. But I’ll definitely pay a visit when I’m in the neighborhood.

    The job search is slow, alas. Most openings seem to be for either senior positions or $10/hr stuff. I’ll keep at it. “がんばるで!” as they say.

  6. Mari Says:

    Hi Kevin,

    I notice your birthday is coming up. I haven’t the foggiest idea what you might like. Perhaps you could give me some hints.

    How is it being back in the ole US of A?

    Do you miss Japan or is it nice to be back amongst English speaking people? Did you end up getting pretty fluent in Japanese?

    What great adventures are in store for you next?

    Love,
    Mari

  7. kevinjames Says:

    Hey Mari,

    For the stuff I didn’t answer by email:

    I’ve slid back into life in the US with no reverse culture shock (that’s the widely used term, but I think it should be called something like “returnee culture shock”). I do miss Japan a lot, but it’s been good to see my family and it’s nice to be able to talk to people without the language barrier.

    For now I’m focused on the agonizingly slow job hunt, but I’ll have more adventures yet.

Leave a Reply

