Conferences and Broken Windows

Also: Elementary school visits. I’ll start from there.

The junior high school had final exams this week, for Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. Rather than have me sit around doing nothing for three days, I was sent to teach classes at the neighboring elementary school. My classes went well and the kids were cute.

My kids – the junior high students – have been distinctly not cute. Or some of them, anyway. On Friday morning, it was discovered that overnight, all the windows had been smashed in one of the second year classrooms. Now windows getting broken at my current school is nothing new, but an entire room’s worth is a lot (they cover the upper halves of two walls). Because of the scale of the vandalism and the fact that it required breaking into the locked school, the police were called in to do an investigation. I overheard the summary of the immediate findings and it was impressive how much they could work out.

I’m interested in finding out who did it, but that will have to wait until Thursday. For Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday of next week, I’ll be in Yokohama, at the conference for departing JETs. The conference is optional, and participants have to arrange and pay for travel, food, and lodging on their own, but it’s three days of “special leave” from work, and that’s not bad. I’ve never been to Yokohama, so I’m looking forward to it, and hopefully the conference itself will be worthwhile, too.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Conferences and Broken Windows”

  1. Chery Kinnick Says:

    Hey Kevin,

    It was good to get your postcard and be directed to this fascinating blog! It sounds like you are experiencing Japan in all its complicated glory. I’m so happy for you that you achieved your goal of teaching in Japan. Keep us posted, okay?

    All is well at NSL!

    Chery

  2. kevinjames Says:

    Hello, hello! I’m glad that my (late, late, late) letter made it over, and it’s good to hear that the library and its dwellers are well.

  3. Barthe Says:

    Thailand was interesting…especially since Christopher now has a Thai wife. I keep trying to tell the difference between Chinese faces and Thai faces. The closest I’ve gotten is that Chinese eyes slant up and Thai eyes are straight across.
    You talk about planning the end of your teaching. When do you come home? Unfortunately your arriving into a recession, but that may not affect the work you plan to do.
    The election is exciting, tho. Most of the family is rooting for Obama.
    Love,
    Grandmother

  4. Kay D. Says:

    Wow! This sure shatters the stereotype about Asian students all being polite, eager, over-achievers! Sounds like a good school to get away from.

    And thanks for providing an armchair traveller like me with all the pix & commentary. I envy you having seen Nikko. If I could convince ST’s Scotty to beam me to just one place on Earth, it’d be to Nikko–although I’d also convince him to do a little time travel so I could see it when it was all freshly painted & totally glitzy. “Don’t say ‘rikko’ (sp?)/ Until you’ve seen Nikko!”

    And a question: Just what *is* the special dish that Imobou Hiranoya has been serving for 300 years?

    –Kay at natsci

  5. kevinjames Says:

    I’m coming home in August. Alas, I doubt the American economy will be looking any better by then.

    Hello, Kay!

    I don’t think I can explain Imobou Hiranoya’s dish better than they do: http://www.imobou.net/english.html

    It’s very simple, but quite good.

  6. Patrick Says:

    I’m saddened that your posts about Japan will no longer keep me busy at work. :)

    It’s nice to read that Kari isn’t the only teacher dealing with, shall I say, rambunctious students. Keep taking as many pictures as possible and I’m looking forward to catching up once you’re home and settled.

    Take care,
    Patrick

Leave a Reply

