Bad News

A short post to say that I’m alive and well.

This week was “Golden Week” here in Japan, which is a period with four public holidays. This year, that meant no school on Monday, Thursday, and Friday. I tried to make the best of my time off, although I quickly decided against traveling abroad when I found that airfare during Golden Week is double or even triple the usual price. Meanwhile, domestic transportation and destinations are pretty clogged, but that seems confined to the four-day weekend; the three-day one wasn’t too bad. On Monday I went to Ise, which was well worth the trip. I’ll talk about that some other time, though.

Yesterday there was a death in the family. At times like this, it’s hard being so far away from your loved ones, but aside from being able to be with my family, I suppose I’d feel just as helpless there as here. I guess all I can say is, Jenny, if you read this, know that my thoughts and love are with you.

2 Responses to “Bad News”

  1. Nicole Says:

    thank you, Kevin – being with the family in spirit means a lot and I’m sure Jenny can feel your love.

  2. Jenny Watson Says:

    Thank you for thinking of me, Kevin. I truly cannot express how much I adore my family, and you are definitely included. Life has a way of ambling along, but not necessarily in the direction you or I would like it to go. Fortunately, I have a bit of Hudgie Lou in me to get through the rough bits. I must say it makes me so happy to think of you having adventures in the Orient! Perhaps one day I’ll have an adventure too! Much love to you from this side of the world.

Leave a Reply

