A Quick Post

Man, I’m busy.

The Kobe Board of Education JET Program Supervisor is currently visiting each school to observe a class. Today was my turn. After the class, he talked with the Japanese teacher for at least forty minutes and then with me for about thirty minutes. The talk was constructive criticism and advice regarding team teaching, plus general questions on how I’m doing at the school. In the end, it wasn’t so bad, but the teacher and I were both pretty nervous before the evaluation. (She’s a new teacher, by the way. I think this is her second year.)
Then, after the talk, I had to go eat a quick lunch and head out for a mid-term JET ward meeting (ward = district or neighborhood). All the JETs in my ward (8 or 9 of us) met at the ward leader’s school. We participated in an English class and then had the actual meeting, where we talked about upcoming events and deadlines, how classes and teacher relations are going, and that sort of thing.

This Friday and Saturday will be my school’s culture festival.
Last Sunday I harvested rice.

More on these later, but right now I’m off to bed.

5 Responses to “A Quick Post”

  1. Nicole Says:

    So how are classess and teacher relations going? And did you get to take home any of the rice you harvested??? Friday and Saturday cultural festival, eh? So does that mean you have to ‘work’ Saturday? (quick posts lead to lots of questions!!!)

  2. The Drunken Vandal Says:

    I agree with your mom. The sorter the post the more questions we have for you. :) Glad to see you are staying busy and your evaluation went well.

    Things in the states are the same. The weather has started to turn but I guess it’s about time. The Seahawks are off to an impressive start and the Tigers and the Cardinals are in the world series. The Huskies were looking towards a bowl game and Stanback (sp) got hurt so their season my be gloomy. Elections are fast approaching and I am looking forward to that. Anywho, can’t think of anything else you might need to know. Take care.

  3. JennyElizabeth Says:

    I’m just glad to hear some snippets of news from the man himself. ; ) I missed seeing you at Apple Squeezings, but you have the best excuse of all! Scotty on the other hand…well, let’s just say no Norwegian Meatballs for him! (Just kidding Scotty, I know you had a good reason too–just not as good as your brother.) I’ve enjoyed reading your blog so far. As for planning your trips, I think it’s great to give yourself the chance to explore without any set itinerary — or at least a really flexible one. Small bites savored are better than gorging without enjoyment. Hmm…I’m hungry, so love ya, miss ya, and catch ya later.

  4. kevinjames Says:

    Quick responses before I write a new post (which may be only slightly less brief):

    Alas, I didn’t get to keep any rice. I’d have to de-hull and/or polish it first, anyway, though.

    Crap, I need to figure out overseas voting.

    Good to hear from you, Jenny!

  5. Barthe Says:

    phonology? And why did you harvest RICE???????????

    As a former teacher, I’m wondering what the evaluator said were your strong points and what did you need to improve?

    Christmas is coming. Money or a present?????????? I know how to sent money…..OOPs, just looked for your bank account number and couldn’t find it. If it’s money please send me your account number again.

Leave a Reply

